For the love of Christ!

12 Aug

It’s been an interesting and deeply moving week at the helm of Heartsong. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not the helmsman. I hope to God Jesus is. But I do get to stand at the helm with him and on behalf of all of the Heartsong tribe who follow him differently together. It’s been interesting because of all the response that has been generated by some comments I made about our MIC (Memphis Islamic Center) neighbors across the street from us that was picked up by the national Fox News website. The responses range from attaboy to hateful, but for the most part even those who question our wisdom are not questioning our faith and are (I believe) trying to be helpful.

Our response to whoever inquires is the same one I encouraged you to make to any of your friends, relatives, associates and strangers whose paths you cross who inquire of you why Heartsong is practicing this radical hospitality. Get a real puzzled look on your face (which is hard to do in an email) and say, “We are loving our neighbors.” And if they ask how we are going to witness to our faith in Jesus to them, get an even more puzzled look on your face and say, “We are loving our neighbors.” To say much more than that would be to veer into politics and away from the fact that we doing what we are doing because our Lord would have us do it. We are living out WWJDIHWU (what would Jesus do if he were us).

Jesus said that people would know we are his disciples by our love. It is the same quality with which God loves us. God does not wait for us to love God first; God does not require that our hearts be pure. There are no conditions to God’s love.

The dear people of MIC whom I have met have only returned our love with their own. As they come into Heartsong each night their eyes have been wet with gratitude. If they had negative images of Jesus followers in their hearts, after experiencing grace coming to them through us there is now a positive experience in their hearts and minds that I pray to God will root out what they have only heard, or worse experienced, by some who call themselves Christian, but have not shown his kind of love to them.

I am proud to be a part of a tribe who is willing to wrestle with their own negative images of a people, and let the love of Jesus root out what they have heard or worse experienced by those who take the name muslim, but do not live the peace that way teaches. I am convinced to the bottom of my heart and mind and soul that Jesus is proud of us too.

42 Responses to “For the love of Christ!”

  1. Becky August 12, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

    Since Christ is alive and is living in us, another way to phase that same question might be “What will Jesus do?”. Amazing Grace!

  2. Danny August 14, 2010 at 3:27 pm #

    I understand sharing the Love of Christ, but to open your church, a House of Worship, the HOUSE OF GOD, and allow muslims to come and pray to a FALSE god, is just WRONG!!! I don’t think we have to ask WWJDIHWU, I think his Word is pretty clear how he feels about false religion.

    Judah was carried away to Babylon because they turned to idols and allowed the House of GOD to be desecrated with the worship of false gods.

    I’m praying for you, your congregation, AND the Muslims across the street from you.

    • stevestonesr August 22, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

      Hey Danny, What exactly did Jesus say about false religion? Are you basing your stance on what he said? If so, would you point me to the chapters and verses on which you are standing? It is impossible for anyone except those who follow Jesus to worship in our church. Our church is not a building. The church Jesus told his disciples would be founded is a people. That church may worship anywhere and does-shopping malls, libraries, bars, restaurants and a lot of other kinds of places. The room where our church gathers is also used for rock concerts, basketball, sports banquets, theater productions, zumba dance classes and a lot of other things. What makes it a place of worship is when the church is gathered in there worshipping. The rest of the time it is just a big ole empty room.

      • Danny August 23, 2010 at 5:38 pm #

        Hi Steve,

        Just quickly I came up with Matt. 7:15, and Mark 13:22-23 both instances of Jesus warning his disciples of false prophets…I had I nice lunch with Jathaniel last week and he explained pretty well the concept that the Church isn’t the building but the people, and I get that…I also understand that you are planting a seed with these Muslims. Jathaniel also smacked me between the eyes with the whole love your enemy command which gave me pause for reflection. I don’t question your motive or your heart, I’m just not sure it’s the right thing to do, but ultimately YOU will be held accountable for yourself and your flock.

        God bless you, Heartsong, and your endeavors and also the Muslims across the street from you.

      • stevestonesr August 23, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

        Hey Danny. Thanks. I often find that a conversation with Jathaniel clears up a lot of things for me too. ;>) Regarding Matthew 7:15 the warning there from the Lord is to beware. We are. That for me comes under the heading of being wise as serpents and innocent as doves at the same time. Mark 13:22 also call for the same kind of being aware. It’s good for brothers to dialogue about these points of faithful Jesus following. Thanks for taking the time to do that with me.

  3. Bette C August 20, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

    GOOD ON YOU!!!

  4. Pat Brown August 22, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    It is good to love your neighbor. It is not good to put them before Christ. The church is the Bride of Christ. You have made the Bride a whore. There is a stark difference between Jesus Christ Son of God and Muhammad. Whose God do you believe in and worship? You had better be sure.

    Pat Brown

    • stevestonesr August 22, 2010 at 8:39 pm #

      Hey Pat, It is hard for me to know where to begin responding to you. How has the church been made a whore by allowing muslims to pray in a building? The church was not a part of that at all. The God I worship does not dwell in a building, but in the hearts and minds of those who love him. The building is not a church. The church sometimes meets there. On other occasions that room is used for concerts, theater showings, sports banquets, scout ceremonies, zumba classes, and a host of other functions. Churches meet in movie theaters, libraries, malls, grocery stores and a lot of other places. What makes a space holy is not the bricks and mortar, but the people who gather there. At Heartsong we put nothing before Christ-certainly not a fear soaked, and hateful brand of religion that calls itself by the name of Jesus while all the time defiling everything he said and did.

    • Jesse Williams August 24, 2010 at 11:52 pm #

      To say it is not good to put your neighbor before Christ seems to me the same as saying its not good to give a man standing in a dark room a flash light. Why not let him stub is toe on the chair he can’t see right? Now if he decides not to use the flashlight then thats on him but as for me…..I’m gonna let it shine, even to the muslim neighbors accross the street.

      • stevestonesr September 2, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

        So proud of your radical love for Christ’s sake.

  5. Nadeem August 23, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    Steve, I am one of those people who nightly attends the Heartsong church as a part of the Muslim prayers for Ramadan, in the House of God (Heartsong Church) that to our community is now well known as the house of love and respect for our (Islam) and other religions. We are deeply moved with the hospitality that we have received from your congregation/tribe/flock. It has reminded us of the time when our Prophet asked the persecuted Muslims to migrate to Ethiopia, which was then ruled by a Christian king, Negus. Negus provided a home and a respectful welcome to the persecuted migrants and despite the tremendous chaos in the Muslim world today, we (most) remember this outstanding hospitality and support with a lot of fondness, prayer for Negus and gratitude. What Heartsong has done for us confirms Prophet Jesus’s message of love and for which I pray that the Lord always holds your congregation in Love and Mercy. In this day and age, interfaith dialogue and support is critical to extinguishing the fire of anger amongst members of differing faith and your action has been outstanding in this respect. We are all Lord’s Creation and it is imperative on us to love and respect each other. Our scripture says that had Lord willed everyone to be of one religion, we would have been all of one religion, perhaps even of the same color and height, more like clones. So physical and intellectual/spiritual differences are Divinely guided, but love and tolerance for each other is also a Divine mandate. Most of us, who come to your church are active members of the greater community, many seen as healers through medical skills Blessed on us. We feel that together we can work to build this community and remove some of the misery that affects our flocks, and those many others around us. The step your church has taken, it is my humblest and sincere prayer, will (Lord-willing) go a long way in bringing happiness to our beloved Memphis and hopefully your example will be emulated by others around the country and hopefully it will help remove some misgivings in the hearts of some from my community. May the Lord Bless the Heartsong church and we are proud to be your neighbors. If there is anything we can help the church with, it will be our pleasure and honor. Just a minor clarification- I am not on the board of MIC but I suspect my opinions will be shared by all and sundry.

    • stevestonesr September 2, 2010 at 5:37 pm #

      Hey Nadeem,

      Your gracious and loving spirit is typical of what I have experienced from all those from MIC I have personally encountered. My hope and prayer is that what we are doing together will be a beacon of hope and love that will saturate the hearts and minds of all who truly love and serve the one true God, and that fear and ignorance in all of us will be healed. It astounds me that our simple act of love is generating such a national buzz, but I pray it will all be for the glory of the one who spoke us all into being.

    • trutislove September 13, 2010 at 1:09 am #

      What respect does Islam show Christians through out the world? Persecution, murder…its fact. Yet Christians still love and forgive, sharing the true God, who has a Son. Islam offers no redemption, only oppression and deception.

  6. Richard August 28, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    Bless you, Steve. I read about you in todays CA, then looked up your website. You and your church are an inspiration to me. It has been over 30 years since I regularly attended church, but I may join you Sunday.

    • stevestonesr September 2, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

      Hey Richard,

      Thanks for sharing your encouragement with me and the Heartsong faithful. Come on over at 9:00 or 11:00 and check us out. Dress very casually or people will spot you as a newcomer. This is the church I thought I was going to have to die and go to heaven to enjoy.

  7. doyle August 28, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    Just a question:
    How do you KNOW WWJDIHWU?

    • stevestonesr September 2, 2010 at 5:24 pm #

      Hey Doyle,

      I can’t know what Jesus would do if he were me. What I’m convinced he calls me to do is know him as deeply as I can, first by reading and staying in the gospels where he reveals his will and personality, and also by paying attention to the witness of the Holy Spirit in me, both personally and in community with other Jesus followers. It is out of knowing him that I have to discern what I believe he is leading me to do, and then simply do it. I don’t hear voices or see things. I’m just doing what Jesus followers have done since he left the earth in flesh and blood. I’m spending my life following him according to how I’ve come to know him through what is recorded in the bible about him. It is the primary relationship of love and trust in my life.

      Thanks for asking. I appreciate the time you invested in engaging me for Christ’s sake.

      • doyle September 4, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

        Thanks for your honesty in saying “I can’t know…”.
        What did you mean by “…he calls… first, by reading and staying in the gospels…”? Specifically: What do you mean by “the gospels”?

        Thank you for your time and service.

        doyle

  8. Bob Kurtz August 29, 2010 at 2:26 am #

    Pastor, I agree that we are called to love our neighbor. However, presenting this issue to the world as a WWJD example does not fit. I do not believe that Jesus would ever encourage anyone to sin by worshipping another deity. God is Spirit and those who worship Him must worship in spirit and truth.

    Based on the revelation of God as triune in nature, we know that the god of Islam is not the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob who in these last days has spoken to us by His Son. The character, attributes and ways of Allah are not the same as the Jehovah God of our Scripture.

    While I firmly believe that we are to be cordial, loving, and neighborly, we ought not lose sight of the admonition in 2 John 7-11 regarding those who do not abide in the doctrine of Christ.

    • stevestonesr September 2, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

      Hey Bob,

      The dear people of MIC whom I know tell me they are worshipping the God of Abraham, Issac and Jacob. And in the first three pages of the Quran it states that they are worshipping the one true God as do Jews and Christians (the Quran’s words, not mine). That is what their book says. Who am I to judge that they are not? Jesus reserved his sternest warnings to those who would dare take the place of Almighty God and judge another. You can judge someone’s actions as good or evil according to your understanding and experience of it, but to judge someone’s interior is beyond human ability. It is to take the place of God. Be careful, brother.

      Our actions are based on WWJD. That is all and exactly what he calls us to do. We are following his directions as he illustrated it in the story of the Good Samaritan. The Samaritan did not respond to the man’s politics or theology, but to his human need. We are simply putting a roof over the heads of some people who are our actually our neighbors across the street. I believe, from what I know of him and the time over my life I have spent in close company with him, that he is proud of how we are representing him.

      And if you are going to quote scripture, do it accurately. I’m guessing you know that passage from 2 John is about those who take the name of Jesus, but teach in error. In the church at that time were two major teachings in error about Jesus and the Way. One was gnoticism which went so far into a touchy feely spirituality that they said Jesus couldn’t have been possibly human, and the other was promoted by the Judaizers who wanted to subjugate Jesus to being a servant of Jewish law. So what 2 John is really speaking about is those within the Christian community who claim to represent Jesus but are trying to make of him and his teachings something purely, exclusively and superiorly spiritual or to make all he taught into new laws (which he came to free us from). That scripture does not apply to loving our Muslim neighbors in the least.

      I thank you for taking the time to write. I sense that you are trying to be helpful and not simply trying to hurt us. My prayer is that the Lord will use this opportunity to grow us both deeper and wider into him and into serving him in this generation.

      • Bob Kurtz March 10, 2011 at 11:28 am #

        Pastor, perhaps obtaining clarification on Quran Surah 3:54 and the meaning of Allah’s title in light of John 14:6 would aid in focus.

        As believers in Christ, indwelt by the Holy Spirit, we are called to discernment in many ways. My judgment with regard to the nature of God is righteous judgment consistent with the Word of God and mandated in John 7:24. For me to have judged the ultimate eternal destiny of your neighbors would be wrong as I would be putting myself in the place of God.

        My aim is certainly not to discourage or hurt you in this endeavor. Rather, it is to speak the truth in love which I sincerely hope that you continue to sense.

      • stevestonesr March 10, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

        Thank you, Bob. I do accept that what you are sharing is your understanding of the truth. What I am living out is my understanding of it. I continue to believe we did and are doing the right thing for Christ’s sake. I don’t expect to win you over, and will not compromise what I believe is the direct leading of the Holy Spirit based on the teachings of Jesus. God bless you in all you do for the cause of Jesus.

  9. Graham August 31, 2010 at 1:49 am #

    Steve,

    I’m not very religious. I guess the closest thing I’ve come to a church is Unitariaism, which I know is like religion-lite. I just wanted to say that one of the things I like about religion is that it is about opening your heart to others. I read what you guys did for the mosque next door and I think that you are certainly doing the Lord’s work. Opening your hearts, but also your minds, which is so important.

    I think a lot of people who have such hateful things to say are driven by fear. And that fear is driven by ignorance, not in a negative way. But a simple lack of experience with other faiths like this. And by opening your doors and reaching out to each other, you are all learning a valuable lesson.

    Keep up the loving and the learning.

    Graham

    • stevestonesr September 2, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

      Hey Graham,

      We are not a religious people at Heartsong. Our definition of religion is: rules and regulations human beings make up to try and control other human beings. We are a people who deeply love Jesus and follow his teaching, example and Spirit around through life. You are right on about fear and ignorance. It is in us all. The first response to the stranger for most human beings is fear because of ignorance (just not knowing them or their intentions). It’s a defense mechanism. The thing is that a Jesus follower cannot let fear make the decision for them. They have to do what they believe he is leading them to do. Thanks so much for taking the time to offer your encouragement.

  10. Rowan August 31, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    I was raised to believe that the best way to demonstrate the merit and rewards of any particular path of faith was to live it openly and joyfully. And then when someone asks you, “Hey, why are you so happy in your life when so many other people are not?” you tell them about what it is that’s made you so joyful.

    You are loving your neighbors, and in doing so you’re bringing them closer to understanding why your faith is a source of joy for you. For many non-Christians, the face the church shows is one of anger, of fear, of hate, and of domination, leading people to say, “Those people are so UPSET about their beliefs. Why would I want to try to see things their way?” When I see Christians welcome non-Christians into their hearts, I see that they are spreading the Word of God, because the Word of God is Love.

    • stevestonesr September 2, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

      I believe you are right on target, Rowan. Thanks for weighing in.

  11. linda k September 8, 2010 at 12:00 am #

    Are you crazy! These are the people that attacked us. They are leading you to believe that they are peace loving. They are establisning mosque in the middle of the bible belt for a reason and that is to take us over and weaken our country and our relegions already established here. We do not teach to kill and they do! What if they kill your future generations! They have done it before! Remember most recently 9/11 coming around this Saturday. In christ, Linda K. The only reason you do not have my last name is no one else left their last name.

  12. Abed September 8, 2010 at 5:44 am #

    Mr Steve Stone, I am a muslim who lives in Bartlett and I have heard about your church being very hospitable to my fellow muslims and praying in your church, in the month of Ramadan. I am very deeply touched and amazed in a time other church leaders burn our holy book and condemn our religion.
    I believe neighbors should love each other like this and people with different faiths should have this love and respect.
    I am a physical therapist and I was treating a patient whom you know, Pastor Charles Stewart (lives at Kirby Pines) and he mentioned that he knows you and has all the respect for you and that you have these good qualities as a church leader.
    I want to say “Thank You” for understanding and loving to help others and for your hospitality.
    I have a question to ask you if you don’t mind. What is the opinion of your church members about your hospitality and what most of them say.
    Thank you
    Abed M.
    Bartlett, TN

  13. Tjeerd September 9, 2010 at 12:34 am #

    Hi Steve.

    Saw you on countdown with K. Olberman.
    At first the thought of letting Muslims use a Christian
    worship facility, no way!
    Then I thought, what a radical way to show the love of Christ.
    Going out of our comfort zone.
    Pre evangelism at it’s finest.
    Tjeerd (Ted from Canada )

  14. LindaK September 9, 2010 at 5:45 am #

    There was nothing gracious and loving about 9-11,It astounds me how people like you are so ignorant in allowing muslims to build there victory buildings on U.S.A. soil.I worship GOD but I also worship U.S.A. How can you trust people that murdered over 3,000 AMERICANS In one day.They(Muslims) have a long term plan,they will attack again and people like you are protecting them. How can you and your GOD justify that? Maybe you should educate yourself on the people and religion you are defending.Have you ever read one page of the KORAN? For your country and childrens sake maybe you should.

  15. Linda K September 9, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

    stevestonesr I wonder why you only want to hear your opinion on the sub. of the muslims and others that agree with you? Matt;7;15 Jesus warning his disciples of false prophets,Beware.Did you not see the burning of the American flag on the news a few days ago? By your new found friends in their country.What will you do when they do that in your on country? It will be to late then the war will be in your back yard for your future generations to fight.Thats sad,think about it.

  16. Robert from San Antonio September 10, 2010 at 4:12 pm #

    Dear Pastor Stone,

    I just saw your feature on CNN. While neither a church-goer nor a practitioner of any religion , I do consider myself to be a spiritual man. I congratulate you on your Muslim outreach. It seems to me that you are a person who uses his faith to improve both himself and the lot of his fellow human beings. As many of your critics prove, that fine trait is unfortunately rare. I see from your calm and reasoned responses to them that you are not letting them get you down.

    I hope that your excellent example will help some people who take the easy path of hate to “open their inner eye”, and realize that any brute can force compliance. However, to persuade someone to at least consider your point of view takes learning, patience, and the ability to place yourself in the other person’s shoes.

    Best wishes, and keep on keepin’ on!

  17. RAAGEE ANAGHEEL September 11, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    DEAR PASTOR STEVE,I want to express my gracious thanks to you as an American,as a Muslim/Christian for your honesty God loving passion you’ve shown to the people in your neighborhood who are Muslims. when i say Muslim/Christian some who are critisizing you will start rooling there eyes wondering how can a muslim be a christian but the truth is in the teachings of the Koran! every muslim believes in GOD/ALLAH and his messenger MUHAMMAD(PROPHET)PBUH & JESUS(PROPHET)PBUH.every muslim also believes JESUS will appear at the end of the world and save all who believe in GOD/ALLAH.Thank you pastor Steve for your honesty.May ALLAH bless you,your family,your congregation and the great people of this United States of America. AMEN.

  18. Phumlani September 12, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    this is wrong …

    Firstly, ask yourselves and Islam …

    I)
    Is Jesus Christ the only begotten Son of Allah of the Koran … and is he the Savior of Mankind, under which NO OTHER NAME including the prophet Mohamed, men are saved?

    II)
    Is Jesus the Son of Allah who was sent by ALLAH of the Koran, to die and be ressurected on the 3rd day , for the sins and the life eternal with and for man ?

    If you answer NO, to either of those then you have no busniess, declaring things like “we al worship God in similar ways” or that the Koran’ god is OUR God…

    That in itself is blasphemy according to the Bible, please bretheren watch yourselves and guard the faith.

    Please do not be too hasty to go read up on other religions and compromise your own faith …

    God did not give us the Koran to reveal himself…. we have the Bible which is complete..

  19. trutislove September 12, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    Greetings: Getting in bed with false teachings is not Christ like. Islam in a nutshell 1 John 2:22 Who is the liar? It is the man who denies that Jesus is the Christ. Such a man is the antichrist–he denies the Father and the Son.
    23 No one who denies the Son has the Father; whoever acknowledges the Son has the Father also.

    Show love by speaking the truth.
    Muhammad was a bloody false prophet who hated Christians. To open your doors to Muslims who bow to Mecca (a black moon stone) is spiritually unwise. what does light have to do with darkness?

    • trutislove September 12, 2010 at 10:47 pm #

      Ps I also read how you open the doors to rock concerts…Satan is mighty comfortable in them walls.

    • trutislove September 12, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

      Ps I also read how you open the doors to rock concerts…Satan is mighty comfortable in them walls. In Gods eyes false teachings are Satanic. Might as well let Satanist share your home and worship the Devil…

      Galations 5:9
      “A little yeast works through the whole batch of dough.”

      1 Corinthians 5:6 Your boasting is not good. Don’t you know that a little yeast works through the whole batch of dough?
      7
      Get rid of the old yeast that you may be a new batch without yeast–as you really are. For Christ, our Passover lamb, has been sacrificed.

      Islam rejects Jesus, rejects his sacrifice. Interfaith equals antichhrist. Repent…I do pray Gods true sheep flee your leadership, as your on the broad road…

      • Lauren f June 23, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

        Amen! I agree with you! Mr. Stone, I really am worried for you and your church. I just can’t understand why you would open the doors to demonic spiritual activity. Yes it’s us that is the church, and not the building itself, but why would you open your heart to that spiritual muck? Do you not know what stealth jihad is? I’m all for loving and praying the Muslims to Christ, but Chrislam is apart of the “plan” for our nations demise. I’m afraid you have fallen prey into that trap. I know that it all boils down down to love, and that’s the only thing that will be left, but we must remember repentance and a righteous heart for God. He wants to come back for a spotless bride. I’m praying for a gift of discernment for you. The only reason I right to you, is because I listened to a man who once was a terrorist. Thank God is saved and sanctified. But he’s been right in it. He himself refferred to church’s in this nation like yours. His wisdom told us what the outcome of your decision is. And just because of curiosity: why exactly do you open your doors to rock bands? Is because you are loving them? Or just because it’s for the money? Just asking.

  20. Muhiba November 5, 2010 at 5:47 am #

    Dear Pastor Stone,

    I was very touched by your hearful deed for our Muslim brothers and sisters across the street from your Congregation. I am a Muslim myself, and have variety of friends from various religions; two of my best friends are of a Christian fate. We have stood for each other through each other’s trials of life, and have offered help, incouragement, and personal time to be there for each other, when everyone else was gone. We freely exchange our fates’ knowledge and offer best solutions to what is to be a great human being. I applaud you for your generosity, but, most of all, the belief that we are ALL created by one God. This story has hit a local newspaper in Bosnia (from where I am personally), and just today I have learned of this story. You HAVE A GIFT; and that gift is given to you for a reason and with a reason. We are all HERE to be tested, to be tested for our patience, our tolerance, our hearts, and our giving abilities. When someone speaks of Jesus, I know it is a God’s prophet, and we, as Muslim believe and respect Him, just as we believe in David, Moses, Abraham, and all the other Prophets God has chosen for a reason to interpret the importance of our beloved Religions. It sadens me deeply to see people’s discussions and reactions to your great deed, but I know in my heart, that what you have done for our brothers and sisters across the street from your Church is a heavy, good deed that will help win you a place in Heaven. May God bless you and all kind people around the world, wherever they may be. Please, do not let a few people represent your believes in a negative way, and they sure do not represent the majority of all good-fated Christians in the world that tolerate and respect “others” as well. It is important for ALL OF US to remind ourselves every single day: We will all return to Him and answer for everything we have done: good and bad! Peace and blessings…

    • stevestonesr December 20, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

      Dear Muhiba, Thanks so much for your encouragement. God needs many more like you in this world.

  21. Lauren f June 23, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    Also google ” the project” quite alarming! The church must wake up! And become alert! Repent and turn our hearts back to God! Islam calls America the Great White Satan. They are strategic in their actions. We must become strategic also. For Gods people will perish for lack of knowledge. I’m not saying any of this to attack you, I’m seriously concerned! Really I am! We are facing destruction at the door! I mean no disrespect to the Muslims, just want to speak the truth.

    • stevestonesr June 23, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

      Hey Lauren. After reading your reply it’s hard for me to identify what you are saying “amen” about and agreeing with. There is no Chrislam going on at Heartsong. What we are up to is making a clear and compelling witness to the love of Jesus for his sake. It has nothing to do with the beliefs, attitudes or actions of the other. Your truth is only what you see through your experience and what you have been told. What I’ve experienced from the fine people of Memphis Islamic Center is welcoming, gentle, gracious and loving. We would try to find a way to love them even if their attitude toward us was distant or hostile. It’s because we are Jesus followers, and that is where he leads us. To date, however, they have made it very easy to love them.

Leave a Reply

