Moving on

20 Aug

The life of a disciple of Jesus is always on the grow. If we commit to follow Jesus around through life it means we will never settle into a way of thinking or being, never retire and ever be on the look out for ways and means to share our experience, strength and hope, even as we continue to gather all that in through staying on the grow with Jesus. If we ever come to think we know all there is of what Jesus has to teach us or, that we have in us all of him he means for us to have, we will soon find that what we have has been transformed into an idol that bears a striking, uncanny resemblance to our own selves.

We keep moving on because he does. Every day will bring new people into our lives, new opportunities to apply what we know, situations that stretch us beyond what we know-where he can grow us further. It’s an amazing journey that he calls us on. The past is gone. Whatever we have done for him and with him is gone. There is only this day with these ones, staying as close to him as we possibly can so that when he whispers to us just what to do in this right now we will be able to hear him-and zig or zag according to his call and counsel. That sounds more than a bit adventurous, doesn’t it? I am not the man I used to be, and by God I will not be the man I am today. Onward and upward-for Christ’s sake-and mine!

The only reason to move on in our thinking or actions is because he keeps moving on. And if we want to stay with him for the adventure of our lifetimes, we will too. I’m in! You?

3 Responses to “Moving on”

  1. George M August 21, 2010 at 12:18 am #

    Count me in. Just you make sure you let me know if I hear “zig” when you know He said “zag”.

  2. Randy Berryhill August 21, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

    I’m in !

    • Virginia September 9, 2010 at 11:41 pm #

      Pastor Stone… It is indeed a blessing from Almighty God to see a servant of God filled with your love. Wednesday, September 8, 2010, I was watching MSNBC, when you were being interviewed, I started to change the channel because I thought you were going to support the burning of the Islam church site. When you stated that you had opened your church, Heartsong to the Muslims, I cried… as I thought am I really hearing this minister say they have opened their church to the Muslim? Pastor Stone, I have no doubt in my heart that Almighty God looked to his right hand and said to our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, finally our greatest commandment LOVE is being honored by our servant Steve Stone. The very sermon Jesus preached on the Mount was honored Pastor Stone, when you opened your church to the Muslins. There was another man I met over 50 years ago when I was a little girl in Birmingham, Alabama, that was preaching love and peace… We were young and couldn’t understand why did he wanted us to love the people that hated us so much, enslaved us, lynched us, sisked dogs on us, spat on us, called us names while we were domonstrating. We earnestly thought he was crazy. I’m talking about Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. I’m sure he’s smiling and agreeding with the Trinity in heaven. How pleasing and loving that you followed our Father’s instructions on how to love our neighbors as ourselves. I am now retired from the U.S. Government after 40 years of service. My goal is to tell everyone about how God loved us so much that he sent his only begotten son, Jesus to die for us while we were yet sinners. Heartsong Church members should be grateful to Almighty God for a pastor like you…not only talking the talk but walking the walk. The Holy Bible says that we shall know Christians by their love. I know you now Pastor Stone. I pray that God will not only bless you but will allow all His blessings to overtake you.

      Your Sister In Christ,
      Virginia C. Maddox

Leave a Reply

